SHERILYN GENTILE .. NYC ..
3 min readFeb 9, 2021

“SCREAM”…

“THERE IS NO HEALING WITHOUT RAGE…”, my Buddhist/Jewish therapist told me…

“I’m not “that” angry..”. I replied..

He rolled his eyes..”Yeah.. ok…”

I screamed once .. I remember every detail

After my late husbands cancer prognosis .. and the pronunciation that

“No matter what”… just buying time …

I don’t lose it .. WASP women .. we don’t generally raise our voices ..

I have a lovely and practiced “alto”… when I get “upset”… I sound rather high pitched and .. frankly .. not. “female”…

Shouting .. no… SCREAMING.. NEVER …

But I did .. alone .. driving on a back street .. leading up to the local beach in my north shore “Long island” community …

I parked the SUV.. turned up Led ZEPPELIN .. ( why? seemed like Robert Plant could drown me out ..). And I RAGED …

Tears .. screams .. I even pounded the steering wheel …

It felt AMAZING .. even under the circumstances..

So..

According to my Jewish Buddhist Therapist .. whom I have dubbed “JEWDA”..

I am a “smoldering volcano”…

This I know .. explains why I get all squirrely inside unless I run 5 to 6 miles a day .. longer on weekends .

This past weekend .. running through dense snow .. up hills.. I felt my left knee

Sobbing ..

“It’s just a matter of time ..” my ACL warned me …

So.. maybe I need to scream ..

Again ..

I have channeled my “inner Italian” again .. ( not Italian .. but I played one for 15 years ..).

“You’re DEAD to me..”. ( this .. I am GOOD at.. I will ghost, I will delete .. I will ignore .. with. 5 words..)

YOU.. ARE DEAD TO ME ..

Lots of unpleasantness.. HANDLED in that manner ..

Abandonment issues, WASPY woman issues.. a certain “psychopathic” ex who tried to destroy me 8 years ago… people pleasing issues .. and … COVID frustrations …

When I decide to feel nothing .. I do … I picture Jackie Kennedy .. standing straight .. holding her children’s hands .. no expression ..

That is WASPY STRENGTH ..

( never really occurred to me … she threw things in private … we WASP raised .. don’t consider that .. )

Fast forward ..

I felt nothing … I started to study Buddhism .. I found “JEWDA”…

We are culturally different .. he is ALIVE .. he “bubbles”..

I used to bubble ..I know I did ..

He wants me to go out In the middle of Riverside Park and SCREAM…

I am afraid of someone calling 911..

( this is NYC.. NO one will.. )

I tried .. he and I headed out … middle of the wooded area .. no one around ..

I stared at him….

We talked of the things I have pushed so far down , they are clogging up my

Ability to feel..

I stared at him some more ..

Truth is … I fear it.. If all that stuff comes up.. I have to FORGIVE ..

I don’t want to ..not really .. raising GHOSTS.. SCARY

FEAR.. is not allowed .. ( it’s in the WASP WOMAN HANDBOOK..)

I would Rather swallow it than admit how badly I am hurting …

I am STRONG..

That’s WHY people tell me their shit .. never ask about mine ..

I… AM STRONG…

I. can detach quicker than a snake can unhinge his jaw .. listen without reply ..

Direct anyone else’s band …

I DO NOT FEEL.. one way or another ..

it’s not my “shit”…

Wait.. isn’t that WHY I felt compelled to read books on Buddhism .. why I felt I needed to see “Jewda” again .. despite his irritating me with all this “rage” nonsense …

Why I do pretty much everything I do …

I Need to FORGIVE .. not FORGET .. ( we WASPY women are raised to think those two go together ..)

FIRST .. I have to unbury the ANGER..

STEP ONE .. BACK TO THE WOODS..

( UWS residents around 110 and Riverside … “IF” you hear “something” ..

do not be alarmed ..

It’s been a long time in coming …

SHERILYN GENTILE .. NYC ..

GOT MY THERAPIST ON SPEED DIAL.. THOUGHTS, STORIES, TOOLS, TWEAKS, TIPS,). WHAT’S WORKING.. WHAT’S NOT…. THANK YOU.. NEXT…🙄